The Roscoe R. Robinson Award acknowledges outstanding achievements in the field of education in nephrology and medicine. The award was established in memory of Roscoe ‘Ike’ Robinson, the internationally recognized physician, educator, and researcher, founding Editor of Kidney International and past-president of the ISN.

Nomination requirements (for WCN 2021, 2023, 2025, etc.):

  • Your details as nominator: complete name, ISN membership number, and contact information
  • Nominee details: complete name (as listed in publications) and contact information
  • Support statement: explain why the nominee should receive the award (maximum 300 words)
  • Curriculum vitae of the nominee: 2-page maximum
  • Letter(s) of support: optional (no more than three)

Previous winners of the Hamburger, Richards, or Bywaters Awards, or the Lillian Jean Kaplan Prize, are not eligible for the Robinson Award. Self-nominations are not accepted and members of the ISN Executive Committee are not eligible for nomination.

All nominations and supporting materials are to be sent via email to the Awards Coordinator.

The winner of the Roscoe R. Robinson Award is selected by the ISN Awards Committee, chaired by the ISN President, and presented during WCN.

Recipients of the R. Robinson Awards

2019 Agnes B. Fogo  
2017 Mignon McCulloch  
2015 Georgi Abraham  
2013        Haiyan Wang Norbert Lameire   
2011 Meguid El-NAhas       
2009 Saraladevi Naicker  
2007 Rashad Barsoum  
2005 John Dirks  

Global Operations Center

Avenue des Arts 1-2
1210 Brussels, Belgium
Tel: +32 2 808 04 20
Fax: +32 2 808 4454
Email contact


Americas Operations Center

340 North Avenue 3rd Floor
Cranford, NJ 07016-2496, United States
Tel: +1 567 248 9703
Fax: +1 908 272 7101
Email contact