The Lillian Jean Kaplan International Prize for Advancement in the Understanding of Polycystic Kidney Disease (PKD), recognizes individual(s) exhibiting excellence and leadership in PKD clinical or basic research and whose seminal scientific work constitutes tangible achievement toward improving knowledge and treatment of PKD. The $50,000 USD cash prize is one of the most significant awards in the medical research field. Created in 2002, The Lillian Jean Kaplan International PKD Prize was established by the PKD Foundation (USA) and ISN through the generosity of Thomas and Dafna Kaplan of New York, USA, in memory of Mr. Kaplan’s mother, Lillian Jean Kaplan, who was a PKD sufferer and died in 2002.

Nomination requirements (annually):

  • Your details: complete name, ISN membership number, and contact information
  • Nominee details: complete name (as listed in publications) and contact information
  • Support statement: a description of how and why the nominee’s work represents a major advance in basic or clinical understanding of PKD, distinguishing those aspects which clearly set it apart from the work of others in the field, and a summary of the nominee’s contributions
  • Full curriculum vitae and bibliography of the nominee
  • Letters of support: at least two

Previous winners of the Hamburger, Richards, Robinson, or Bywaters Awards are not eligible for the Lillian Jean Kaplan Prize. Self-nominations are not accepted and members of the ISN Executive Committee are not eligible for nomination.

All nominations and supporting materials are to be sent via email to the Awards Coordinator.

The winner is selected by the Lillian Jean Kaplan Prize Advisory Committee: Committee Chair Dr. Nathan Levin, two committee members selected by the PKD Foundation, and two ISN members. The prize is presented during WCN by ISN and the PKD Foundation.

Recipients of the Lillian Jean Kaplan International Prize
2020 Arlene Chapman    
2019 York Pei Bradley K. Yoder  
2017 David Beier Ronald Perrone  
2015 Gregory Pazour Peter Igarashi  
2013        Vincent Gattone Dorien J.M. Peters  
2011 James Calvet Gerd Walz  
2009 Lisa M. Guay-Woodford Corine Antignac Friedhelm Hildebrandt
2007 Vincente Torres Jing Zou  
2005 Gregory Germino Stefan Somlo  
2003 Jared J. Grantham Peter C. Harris  

If you have any awards questions, please contact the Awards Coordinator.

Global Operations Center

Avenue des Arts 1-2
1210 Brussels, Belgium
Tel: +32 2 808 04 20
Fax: +32 2 808 4454
Email contact


Americas Operations Center

340 North Avenue 3rd Floor
Cranford, NJ 07016-2496, United States
Tel: +1 567 248 9703
Fax: +1 908 272 7101
Email contact