The Jean Hamburger Award recognizes outstanding research in nephrology with a clinical emphasis. The award was established in memory of Jean Hamburger, the “Professeuer de Paris,” pioneer of clinical nephrology and founding president of the ISN.

Nomination requirements (for WCN 2020, 2022, 2024, etc.):

  • Your details as nominator: complete name, ISN membership number, and contact information
  • Nominee details: complete name (as listed in publications) and contact information
  • Support statement: explain why the nominee should receive the award (maximum 300 words)
  • Curriculum vitae of the nominee: 2-page maximum
  • Letter(s) of support: optional (no more than three)

Previous winners of the Richards, Robinson, or Bywaters Awards, or the Lillian Jean Kaplan Prize, are not eligible for the Hamburger Award. Self-nominations are not accepted and members of the ISN Executive Committee are not eligible for nomination.

All nominations and supporting materials are to be sent via email to the Awards Coordinator.

The winner of the Jean Hamburger Award is selected by the ISN Awards Committee, chaired by the ISN President, and presented during WCN.

Recipients of the Jean Hamburger Award
2020 William Couser  
2019 Detlef Schlondorff  
2017 Stanley Clark Jordan  
2015 Manikkam Suthanthiran  
2013         David Salant  
2011 Eberhard Ritz  
2009 Jared J. Grantham  
2007 Pierre Ronco  
2005 Giuseppe Remuzzi  
2003 Robert W. Schrier Stewart Cameron
2001 Anita Apeira Roscoe R. Robinson
1999 Barry M. Brenner Robert Heptinstall
1997 Renee Habib Prescilla Kincaid-Smith
1995 Donald W. Seldin  
1993 Gabriel Richet Hugh E. de Wardener
1990 Frank. J. Dixon  
1987 Willem J. Kolff Belding Scribner

Global Operations Center

Avenue des Arts 1-2
1210 Brussels, Belgium
Tel: +32 2 808 04 20
Fax: +32 2 808 4454
Email contact


Americas Operations Center

340 North Avenue 3rd Floor
Cranford, NJ 07016-2496, United States
Tel: +1 567 248 9703
Fax: +1 908 272 7101
Email contact