The ISN presents awards and prizes that acknowledge exceptional contributions to nephrology at the World Congress of Nephrology (WCN) and at regional events according to the following award cycles:


For WCN 2020 (then 2022, 2024, etc.): 

  • Jean Hamburger Award recognizes exceptional research in nephrology with a clinical emphasis
  • Bywaters Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the understanding of Acute Kidney Injury and honors the recipient for lifetime achievement in this field

Read about the 2020 awards and prize winners HERE.

For WCN 2021 (then 2023, 2025, etc.); the call for nominations is open from May 14 to August 27, 2020:

  • Alfred Newton Richards Award rewards outstanding basic research in fields relevant to nephrology
  • Roscoe R. Robinson Award acknowledges outstanding achievements in the field of education in nephrology and medicine
  • Pioneer Awards recognize individuals who have made outstanding and sustained contributions to the establishment and/or development of nephrology in their own country or region

You must be an ISN member to nominate a colleague. If you are not yet a member, learn about our membership packages and join the ISN community today!

Additional Lectures

At each WCN, renowned speakers present Named Lectures. The WCN Scientific Programme Committee selects speakers on the basis of their world class contribution to nephrology and related fields, consistent with the overall themes and priorities of the WCN programme, ensuring that their contributions are appropriate for the selected ISN-named lectureships.

If you have any awards questions, please contact the Awards Coordinator.

Global Operations Center

Avenue des Arts 1-2
1210 Brussels, Belgium
Tel: +32 2 808 04 20
Fax: +32 2 808 4454
Email contact


Americas Operations Center

340 North Avenue 3rd Floor
Cranford, NJ 07016-2496, United States
Tel: +1 567 248 9703
Fax: +1 908 272 7101
Email contact